PPC Connectors - Are You Having Troubles With These Passing PIM?

Discussion in 'The PIM Corner' started by Kelley Woodard, Feb 24, 2010.

1. Kelley Woodard

Kelley Woodard Friend of the Community

Can anyone out there provide me with any information on the experience you are having with PPC connectors passing PIM at 150dB? Are you having success with these new compression connectors or are you finding more fail than pass? I am doing some research on these and am very curious to receive feedback regarding this specific product. Any information and specifically detailed information would be greatly appreciated. If you have results you would like to share with me, that would be great too. Thanks!
  2. dirt  reynolds

dirt reynolds Friend of the Community

Yea, I have been using them for the past 9 months down in the southern California market for the LTE project. I've found after trial and error that there are a few tricks to make them a little cleaner. Example: on the 7/8 and 1 5/8 after drilling the coax and when you are getting ready to cut with the tool in the valley, most people take it off the drill and turn it by hand. I have been using the drill to do it. Just drop the blade in the valley and hit the trigger for a few seconds.

I have noticed that it makes the end a lot cleaner and less chance of screwing up. As far as the PIM gear passing them or failing them, that's a whole other can of worms. It just depends if they used the right slot machine parts in the gear, ha joke... but yea, I've had connectors that were passing with flying colors on the Anritsu and the HP but couldn't get them to pass with th PIM gear. Not sure if that really helps you but hopefully it does. in my opinion its more on the PIM gear then the connector.
  3. Chris Rhees

Chris Rhees Friend of the Community